Apply New Thinking rather than Optimising the Old

Dr. Kathrina Dankl is the founder and managing director of the co-creation consultancy Studio Dankl. Through her professorship at Design School Kolding in Denmark, the studio, which specialises in innovation projects, is optimally connected to university research and thus to current knowledge.

Kathrina Dankl studied industrial design and did her doctorate in design anthropology. Her doctoral thesis “Very Experienced People: An Ethnography of Design, Aging and Style” (2011) deals with the role of objects in the course of life. Kathrina Dankl worked as an assistant professor at Design School Kolding from 2014 to 2017 and is now employed there as an associate professor at the Lab for Social Design. Her research areas include design for health, design diversity, and participatory design.

Kathrina Dankl has published numerous papers in peer-reviewed design journals, for conferences, and anthologies such as Design Studies, CoDesign, The Design Journal and Design Issues. Prior to co-founding the design office danklhampel, she worked for Theo Williams and Defne Koz in Milan. In 2012, she started her own Studio Dankl and since then has been developing products and services in the areas of health, food, mobility, family, living, and demography. Many of her projects have won prizes such as the Moving Emotion Award from Magna Steyr (2003), the Award for Innovation and Marketability (2005), and the Viktualia Award (2014) and are part of the permanent collections of design museums. Kathrina Dankl has curated a number of exhibitions such as “Design Diversity” for the museum Wagner:Werk in Vienna (2014) and “Familienmacher” for the Austrian Museum of Folk Life and Folk Art (2012). Her work has been exhibited at Salone del Mobile (IT), Mart Rovereto (IT), and 100% Design Tokyo (JP), among others. Each of the projects is characterized by careful research into the social context of a new product or service and tries to reconcile economic, ecological, and social aspects. Knowledge generated in design practice supports scientific work – and vice versa.

Read more

LinkedIn

Making is thinking.

A conversation with Kathrina Dankl about the power of polyphony and the search for what really moves people.

In a nutshell: What is Studio Dankl about?

A particular focus of the co-creation consultancy is on the question of how innovation can be anchored in society and companies. By means of co-creation, Studio Dankl integrates employees, customers, and their network of experts into product development.

“Change is a team sport!” What exactly does this motto promise?

Companies and public institutions are part of developments in society as a whole. They are therefore required to design their proposal in such a way that it is relevant for people. Stakeholders offer the largest pool of knowledge and experience for addressing organizational development, new services, or products. The co-creation method integrates this knowledge into the development process of new solutions – with some decisive advantages: The product or service is the result of an actual need and requirement expressed by people. The more involved a subsequent user is in the development, the more likely it is that a feeling of co-ownership develops, thus promoting loyalty and long-term use.

„Stakeholders offer the largest pool of knowledge and experience for addressing organizational development, new services, or products. The co-creation method integrates this knowledge into the development process of new solutions.“

Kathrina Dankl at the Press Safari, opening of Vienna Design Week 2021. Credits: (c)VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser

„There is an increasingly better understanding of what design can achieve in very different organizational, social, or political areas. Design is inherent in everyday processes.“

How has the design landscape changed in recent years?

There is an increasingly better understanding of what design can achieve in very different organizational, social, or political areas. Design is inherent in everyday processes: For example, submitting a tax return can be an easy process, design is also used here. Thinking differently about administration or social systems is particularly exciting. Design is a locally anchored, strategic practice in which objects, form, and materiality play a decisive role. The contemporary design process is carried out by professional designers, but, importantly, multiple players are involved.

At Studio Dankl, design meets research excellence. How do the two work together?

For me, research and practice are inextricably linked. Design research classifies questions in an overall context, develops a strategic orientation, provides an overview of processes and methods, and combines those that make sense for the corresponding project. On a formal level, research excellence at Studio Dankl is expressed in publications in peer-reviewed journals or through participation in international research projects such as Horizon 2020. I am part of the editorial team of journals such as Artifact: Journal of Design Practice and am involved in the organization of design conferences such as Nordes2021. Thus, I am continuously connected to new knowledge.

In the MAK Future Lab, students and senior citizens developed scenarios for New Work in co-creation workshops. Credits: © Mona Heiß/MAK

„Ethnographic design research in particular is about learning what moves people, what the meaning behind a product or object is, what works and what doesn’t.“

Studio Dankl sees itself as a micro-agency and focusses on you as a person. What do customers appreciate about it?

I am the customers’ first point of contact: I bring my experience to bear directly and personally. As the project progresses, it becomes clear what will be selected from the various concepts and pursued further. Accordingly, I am expanding my team and adding skills from our hub, for example communication designers, illustrators, artists, technicians, and software developers.

Do customers always have a precise idea of what they want? How do projects come about?

It varies substantially. Here are two examples: For The Ideal Eating Experience – an exhibition on sustainable production and consumption –, a client I had worked with previously approached me. Already in the first conversation we agreed that this project should be about an experience rather than a classically prepared exhibition. So, you first set out a few basic points and can start from there. For I Love Brot – a collaboration with a Viennese bakery chain –, I was interested in working on the subject of food waste and I approached possible cooperation partners directly. Overall, the initiation phase is important because knowledge about design and methods is passed on. I therefore also offer keynotes and workshops so that interested parties can sound out whether the co-creation tool fits their organization at all and which areas are of particular interest.

What are the aspects that you find particularly exciting about your work?

Sometimes, this is actually the first phase: How is the project defined? What is the background? Why do it at all? Ethnographic design research in particular is about learning what moves people, what the meaning behind a product or object is, what works and what doesn’t. The stories behind it embed a product in a whole life and special context. To learn from how people deal with objects, how they find strategies to use them sensibly – that is a large reservoir, a pool of inspiration for design that is very exciting.

Do you have a favorite among your projects?

A topic that has occupied me for a long time relates to the phases of life and aging. What are the pivotal points in life, those points where decisive things happen, where maybe even an entire existence changes? This is exactly where design can make a contribution by suggesting alternatives, be it in the health care system when you fall ill or in your native company when you retire. I am particularly interested in the meeting of the public and the private spheres, everyday life, and the world of products or services. This topic runs like a red thread throughout my work.

Design meets research excellence

Teaching positions

Since 2014 Design School Kolding Denmark, Lab for Social Design, Teaching on BA and MA Level
SS 2016 Caritas Magdas Design: Participatory Design for Social Businesses, New Design University, St. Pölten
SS 2014 The Health Distributors 2051 with Prof. Fiona Raby, Collaboration with Vienna Biennale. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
WS 2014 Reload my Pharmacy with Prof. Fiona Raby, Collaboration with L’Oreal. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
SS 2014 How Things Don’t Work. Design and Ethnography in Practice. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
SS 2014 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung
SS 2013 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung
SS 2010 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung

Publications

Dankl, K., Akoglu, C. and Egelund, K., A Contemporary Framework for Probing in Social Design: On Continuous Dialogues and Community Building, CoDesign (accepted, in press)
Dankl, K., & Akoglu, C. (2021). Tangible Care: Design as a Vehicle for Materializing Shifting Relationships between Clinicians and Patients. Design Issues, 37(2), 5-15.
Knutz, E. & Dankl, K. (2021) SCALING EXPERIMENTS IN URBAN SPACE – AN EXPLORATORY FRAMEWORK. In: Brandt, E., Markussen, T., Berglund, E., Julier, G., & Linde, P. (2021). Proceedings of Nordes 2021: Matters of Scale. In Nordic Design Research Conference. DESIGNSKOLEN KOLDING.
Dankl, K. & Knutz, E. (eds). Exhibition Catalogue of Nordes 2021: Agency in the City of Kolding. August 2021, Kolding: Denmark
Martin, R. W., Brogård Andersen, S., O’Brien, M. A., Bravo, P., Hoffmann, T., Olling, K., Shepherd H., Dankl K., Stacey D., & Dahl Steffensen, K. (2021). Providing balanced information about options in patient decision aids: an update from the International Patient Decision Aid Standards. Medical Decision Making, 0272989X211021397.
Dankl, K. (2020). Shared Decision Making. In Zwischenmenschliches Design (pp. 47-68). Springer VS, Wiesbaden.
Dankl, K., Stögmann, E., König, T., Moritsch, S., & Hanke, S. (2020). Multidimensional Design Research for Dementia and its Methodological Opportunities for Cross-Disciplinary Consortia. Design Journal, 23(4), 597-619. https://doi.org/DOI: 10.1080/14606925.2020.1768758
Akoglu, C., Dankl, K., & Dahl Steffensen, K. (2019). A design-led patient campaign development process for disseminating the concept of shared decision making. Design for Health, 305-323. https://doi.org/10.1080/24735132.2019.1691417
Read more

Lectures, panel discussions, workshops

»For a better future of design: Ecodesign Talk«, Member of Panel Discussion with Lotte Kristoferitsch, Sebastian Leitinger und Vandasye, 28 September 2021
»Studio Dankl and Co-Creation«, Designer’s Circle Nürnberg, 3 May 2021
Comissioned Keynote
»Postprodukt«, Symposium‘s Co-Organization und Chairing, 7 March 2019
»Urban Food Strategies«, Member of Panel Discussion with Marije Vogelzang et al,
Vienna Design Week 2018
»Developing a General Decision Aid for Future Cancer Care: Getting Feedback from Users in Busy Hospital Environments«, ISDM International Conference for Shared Decision Making 2017, with Canan Akoglu and Karina Dahl Steffensen [Peer Reviewed], Lyon July 2017
»Peer feedback: Using disciplinary-specific teaching formats as „bridges“ to enable student enga¬gement«, DUN Conference 2017, with Tine.W. Jensen [Peer Reviewed], May 2017
»Writing in design education: The Magazine and the Studio as vehicles for writing development«, EATAW 2017, Royal Holloway, University of London, with Tine.W. Jensen [Peer Reviewed], London, June 2017
»Design for Future Consumption« Discussion Series on Sustainable Design, IDRV/Designforum Vienna 1 December 2016, Member of Panel Discussion
Read more

Exhibitions

»Re-Thinking Retirement/An Academy of Life«, 26th Biennial of Design Ljubljana, SI, 2019-2020
»Public Design Consultancy«, Vienna Biennale, AT, 2017
»Viribus Unitis«, Hofmobiliendepot, AT, 2016
»Design Discourse: Austria – South Africa«, Cape Town, ZAF, 2014
»Tomorrow is…«, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst Wien, AT, 2014
»INNENaußenINNEN nicht digitale, virtuelle Räume«, Kunstraum Niederösterreich, AT, 2013
»Progetto Cibo. La Forma del Gusto«, Mart Rovereto, IT, 2013
»Werkzeuge für die Designrevolution«, Designforum, Wien, AT 2012, designHalle, Designmai Graz, AT 2013
Read more

Press

Since 2014 Kunstmagazin Parnass 3/2021, Urban Food: Kunst, Klima, Zukunft?, AT
SS 2016 Schaufenster Die Presse, Nr. 29/24.9.2021
SS 2014 Insidertipps Wien: Kathrina Dankl, August 2020
WS 2014 FORMFAKTOR, https://form-faktor.at/bio-26-in-ljubljana-design-im-zeitalter-der-informationskrise, 7. Januar 2020
SS 2014 BIO26, featured at designaustria, 1/2020
SS 2014 Catalogue feature on »Rethinking Retirement/An Academy of Life« 26th Biennial of Design Ljubljana, SI, 2019-2020
SS 2013 Falstaff Living 01 / 18, AT
SS 2010 ORF Fernsehbeitrag über den Staatspreis Design 2017 in der ZIB 13:00, AT
Back to top

Co-Creation Impuls

by STUDIO DANKL

Be inspired to think transformation in a participatory way.

  • Keynote
  • 20-45 minutes
  • Q&A
  • possible in the organisation or online

The keynote communicates the added value of co-creation as a sustainable, strategic innovation tool for the public and private sector. Co-creation principles, cases and design process inspire decision makers and employees to think about transformation from a participatory perspective.

Focus content:
— Outlining the transformation of the design discipline from product design to strategic innovation tool
— Insight into co-creation principles, impact and design process
— Concrete, inspiring cases.

Target group: Employees, decision-makers and team, conference participants

Number of participants:
unlimited

Co-Creation Kickoff

by STUDIO DANKL

Learn to apply co-creation and start with a sound roadmap.

  • Workshop
  • 4 hours
  • in the organisation or at Impact Hub Vienna

The workshop is aimed at organisations that want to learn about co-creation and involve their team in decision-making processes on strategic innovations. With a focus on applied co-creation principles and methods, the workshop provides a deeper understanding of existing expertise, relevant stakeholders and first process/system/product/service prototypes as a roadmap for co-creation in your own organisation.

Focus content:
— Basic principles of co-creation
— Definition of relevant challenges from the participants' perspective
— Interactive prototyping for efficient validation of assumptions
— Start of a co-creation roadmap

Preparation for participants:
— Anecdote about challenge and success pattern
— Product, device or a production material from your field of work

Target group:
Decision-makers plus team from the public and private sector

Number of participants:
9-12 persons

Co-Creation Now

by STUDIO DANKL

Start into the future with a Co-Creation process tailor-made for you.

  • Process design and support
  • Depending on the project, approx. 4 to 18 months

Co-creation is contextual and situational, so no two design processes are exactly alike. From a pool of proven methods and creative processes, we put together a customised and project-dependent process. This is divided into a preparation phase in which the goal, desire or opportunity is identified, an implementation phase that covers idea generation, prototyping and implementation up to evaluation, and a post-project phase in which adaptations are made and projects are further supported.

Focus content:
— Based on a free initial consultation, offer for a tailor-made project divided into preparation phase
— implementation phase
— post-project phase

Target group:
Organisations from the public and private sector

Number of participants:
To be determined jointly for co-creation activities.

Co-Creation Ideas Ping-Pong Over Lunch

by STUDIO DANKL

If you have lunch with artist Timotheus Tomicek and designer Kathrina Dankl, you will be served new perspectives.

  • Sparring/Exchange
  • 60 minutes
  • Q&A
  • Three centrally located venues in Vienna to choose from.

The artist, filmmaker, and photographer Timotheus Tomicek and the designer Kathrina Dankl share a long-standing tradition of occasional lunch dates. An unstructured exchange of ideas often opens up new perspectives on one’s own work. We invite project partners, customers, and other interested parties to have lunch with us. Everything else – including new perspectives – arises situationally during the conversations.

Focus content:
— Eating together
— Guest shares current topic, challenge, project idea
— Questions, reactions, perspectives, input, ideas from Timotheus and Kathrina

Target group:
Decision-makers from public and private organisations

Number of participants: 1

Neu denken statt Altes optimieren

Dr. Kathrina Dankl ist Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin der Co-Creation Consultancy Studio Dankl. Durch ihre Professur an der Design School Kolding in Dänemark ist das auf Innovationsprojekte spezialisierte Studio bestens an die universitäre Forschung und damit aktuelles Wissen, angebunden.

Kathrina Dankl studierte Industrial Design und promovierte in der Fachrichtung Designanthropologie. Ihre Doktorarbeit „Very Experienced People: An Ethnography of Design, Aging and Style“ (2011) beschäftigt sich mit der Rolle von Objekten im Lebensverlauf. Kathrina Dankl fungierte von 2014 bis 2017 als Assistenzprofessorin an der dänischen Design School Kolding und ist ebendort nun als Associate Professor im Lab for Social Design tätig. Ihre Forschungsgebiete umfassen Design for Health, Design Diversity und partizipatives Design.

Kathrina Dankl hat zahlreiche Publikationen in Designzeitschriften, Konferenz- und Sammelbänden wie Design Studies, CoDesign, The Design Journal und Design Issues veröffentlicht. Vor der Co-Gründung des Designbüros danklhampel arbeitete sie bei Theo Williams und Defne Koz in Mailand. 2012 startet sie ihr eigenes Studio Dankl und entwickelt seither Produkte und Dienstleistungen in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Essen, Mobilität, Familie, Wohnen und Demografie. Viele ihrer Projekte wurden mit Preisen wie dem Moving Emotion Award von Magna Steyr (2003), dem Award for Innovation und Marketability (2005) oder dem Viktualia Award (2014) ausgezeichnet und sind Teil der permanenten Sammlungen von Designmuseen. Kathrina Dankl kuratierte eine Reihe von Ausstellungen wie „Design Diversity“ für das Museum Wagner:Werk Wien (2014) und „Familienmacher“ für das Österreichische Volkskundemuseum Wien (2012). Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem beim Salone del Mobile (IT), Mart Rovereto (IT) und 100 % Design Tokyo (JP) gezeigt. Jedes ihrer Projekte zeichnet sich durch eine sorgfältige Erforschung des gesellschaftlichen Kontexts eines neuen Produkts oder einer neuen Dienstleistung aus und versucht, wirtschaftliche, ökologische und soziale Aspekte in Einklang zu bringen. In der Designpraxis generiertes Wissen unterstützt ihre wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit – und umgekehrt.

Weiterlesen

LinkedIn

Making is thinking.

Ein Gespräch mit Kathrina Dankl über die Kraft der Vielstimmigkeit und die Suche nach dem, was Menschen wirklich bewegt.

Kurz und bündig: Worum geht es bei Studio Dankl?

Besonderer Fokus der Co-Creation Consultancy liegt auf der Frage, wie Innovation in Gesellschaft und Unternehmen verankert werden kann. Mittels Co-Creation bindet Studio Dankl Mitarbeiter*innen, Kund*innen und ihr Expert*innennetzwerk in eine Produktentwicklung ein.

„Wandel ist Teamsport!“ Was genau verspricht dieses Motto?

Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen sind Teil gesamtgesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen. Sie sind somit gefordert, ihr Angebot so zu gestalten, dass es für Menschen relevant ist. Stakeholder bieten demnach auch die größten Pools an Wissen und Erfahrung, um Organisationsentwicklung, neue Services oder Produkte anzugehen. Die Methode der Co-Creation bindet dieses Wissen in den Entwicklungsprozess neuer Lösungen ein – mit einigen entscheidenden Vorteilen: Das Produkt oder Service ist aus einem tatsächlichen Mangel entstanden und wird gebraucht. Je mehr ein*e spätere*r Nutzer*in in die Entwicklung eingebunden ist, desto wahrscheinlicher ist es, dass ein Gefühl der Miteigentümer*innenschaft erzeugt und somit Loyalität und langfristige Nutzung gefördert wird.

„Stakeholder bieten demnach auch die größten Pools an Wissen und Erfahrung, um Organisationsentwicklung, neue Services oder Produkte anzugehen. Die Methode der Co-Creation bindet dieses Wissen in den Entwicklungsprozess neuer Lösungen ein.“

Kathrina Dankl bei der Presse Safari, Eröffnung der Vienna Design Week 2021. Credits: (c)VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser

„Es gibt ein zunehmend größeres Verständnis dafür, was Design in ganz unterschiedlichen organisatorischen, gesellschaftlichen oder politischen Bereichen leisten kann. Design wohnt alltäglichen Prozessen inne.“

Wie hat sich die Designlandschaft in den letzten Jahren verändert?

Es gibt ein zunehmend größeres Verständnis dafür, was Design in ganz unterschiedlichen organisatorischen, gesellschaftlichen oder politischen Bereichen leisten kann. Design wohnt alltäglichen Prozessen inne: Das Einreichen einer Steuererklärung kann sehr einfach gestaltet werden, auch da kommen Designer*innen zum Einsatz. Verwaltung oder Sozialsysteme anders zu denken, ist besonders spannend. Design ist dabei eine lokal verankerte, strategische Praxis, in der Objekte, Form und Materialität eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Der zeitgenössische Designprozess wird zwar von professionellen Gestalter*innen getragen, daran beteiligt sind jedoch verschiedene, multiple Akteur*innen.

Bei Studio Dankl trifft Design auf Forschungsexzellenz. Wie arbeiten die beiden zusammen?

Forschung und Praxis sind für mich untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Design Research ordnet Fragestellungen in einen Gesamtkontext ein, entwickelt eine strategische Ausrichtung, gibt Überblick über Prozesse und Methoden und kombiniert jene, die für das entsprechende Projekt sinnvoll sind. Auf formeller Ebene drückt sich Forschungsexzellenz bei Studio Dankl in Publikationen in Peer-reviewed Journals oder über die Teilnahme an internationalen Forschungsprojekten wie Horizon 2020 aus. Ich arbeite im Herausgeber*innenteam von Fachzeitschriften wie Artifact: Journal of Design Practice und bin an der Organisation von Designkongressen und Symposien wie Nordes2021 beteiligt. Auf diese Weise bin ich kontinuierlich an neues Wissen angebunden.

Im MAK Future Lab entwickelten Studierende und SeniorInnen in Co-Creation Workshops, Szenarien für Neues Arbeiten. Credits: © Mona Heiß/MAK

„Speziell in der ethnografischen Designforschung geht es darum, herauszufinden, was Menschen bewegt, was der Sinn hinter einem Produkt oder einem Objekt ist, was funktioniert und was eben nicht.“

Studio Dankl versteht sich als Micro-agency und fokussiert auf Sie als Person. Was schätzen Kund*innen daran?

Kund*innen haben mich als ihre erste Ansprechperson: Ich bringe meine Erfahrung direkt und persönlich ein. Im Zuge des Projektverlaufs wird dann klar, was aus den verschiedenen Konzepten ausgewählt und weiterverfolgt wird. Dementsprechend erweitere ich mein Team und hole Kompetenzen aus unserem Netzwerk dazu, zum Beispiel Kommunikationsdesigner*innen, Illustrator*innen, Künstler*innen, Techniker*innen oder Softwareentwickler*innen.

Haben Kund*innen immer eine genaue Vorstellung? Wie kommen Projekte zustande?

Das ist ganz unterschiedlich. Vielleicht zwei Beispiele: Bei Ideales Essen Erleben – einer Ausstellung zu nachhaltiger Produktion und Konsum – sind die Auftraggeber*innen aufgrund früherer Projekte auf mich zugekommen. Bereits im ersten Gespräch sind wir übereingekommen, dass es bei diesem Projekt eher um eine Experience als um eine klassisch aufbereitete Ausstellung gehen soll. Man steckt also erst mal einige Eckpunkte ab und kann von dort aus starten. Bei I Love Brot – einer Zusammenarbeit mit einer Wiener Bäckereikette – hatte ich hingegen großes Interesse daran, zum Thema Lebensmittelabfall zu arbeiten und habe mögliche Kooperationspartner*innen direkt angesprochen. Insgesamt ist die Anbahnungsphase wichtig, weil Wissen über Design und Methoden weitergegeben wird. Ich biete deshalb auch Keynotes und Workshops an, damit Interessent*innen ausloten können, ob das Werkzeug der Co-Creation überhaupt zu ihrer Organisation passt und welche Bereiche sie besonders interessieren.

Was sind Aspekte, die Sie an Ihrer Arbeit besonders spannend finden?

Mitunter ist das tatsächlich diese erste Phase: Wie definiert sich das Projekt? Warum macht man es überhaupt? Speziell in der ethnografischen Designforschung geht es darum, herauszufinden, was Menschen bewegt, was der Sinn hinter einem Produkt oder einem Objekt ist, was funktioniert und was eben nicht. Die Geschichten dahinter betten ein Produkt in ein ganzes Leben und speziellen Kontext. Von diesen Strategien zu lernen, wie Menschen mit Objekten umgehen, wie sie Strategien finden, um diese sinnvoll zu nutzen – das ist ein großes Reservoir, ein Pool an Inspiration für Design, der sehr spannend ist.

Haben Sie einen Favoriten bei Ihren Projekten?

Ein Thema, das mich schon lange beschäftigt ist jenes der Lebensphasen und des Älterwerdens. Was sind die Angelpunkte im Leben – also jene Punkte, an denen Entscheidendes passiert, sich vielleicht sogar eine ganze Existenz ändert. Genau hier kann sich Design einbringen, um Alternativen vorzuschlagen: sei es im Gesundheitssystem, wenn man erkrankt oder im ursprünglichen Unternehmen, wenn man in Pension geht. Besonders interessiert mich dabei das Zusammentreffen von öffentlich und privat, von Alltag und Produktwelt oder Dienstleistungen. Dieses Thema zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch meine Arbeit.

Design trifft auf Forschungs­exzellenz

Lehraufträge

Since 2014 Design School Kolding Denmark, Lab for Social Design, Teaching on BA and MA Level
SS 2016 Caritas Magdas Design: Participatory Design for Social Businesses, New Design University, St. Pölten
SS 2014 The Health Distributors 2051 with Prof. Fiona Raby, Collaboration with Vienna Biennale. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
WS 2014 Reload my Pharmacy with Prof. Fiona Raby, Collaboration with L’Oreal. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
SS 2014 How Things Don’t Work. Design and Ethnography in Practice. Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Institut für Design
SS 2014 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung
SS 2013 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung
SS 2010 Designtheorie. Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung

Publikationen

Dankl, K., Akoglu, C. and Egelund, K., A Contemporary Framework for Probing in Social Design: On Continuous Dialogues and Community Building, CoDesign (accepted, in press)
Dankl, K., & Akoglu, C. (2021). Tangible Care: Design as a Vehicle for Materializing Shifting Relationships between Clinicians and Patients. Design Issues, 37(2), 5-15.
Knutz, E. & Dankl, K. (2021) SCALING EXPERIMENTS IN URBAN SPACE – AN EXPLORATORY FRAMEWORK. In: Brandt, E., Markussen, T., Berglund, E., Julier, G., & Linde, P. (2021). Proceedings of Nordes 2021: Matters of Scale. In Nordic Design Research Conference. DESIGNSKOLEN KOLDING.
Dankl, K. & Knutz, E. (eds). Exhibition Catalogue of Nordes 2021: Agency in the City of Kolding. August 2021, Kolding: Denmark
Martin, R. W., Brogård Andersen, S., O’Brien, M. A., Bravo, P., Hoffmann, T., Olling, K., Shepherd H., Dankl K., Stacey D., & Dahl Steffensen, K. (2021). Providing balanced information about options in patient decision aids: an update from the International Patient Decision Aid Standards. Medical Decision Making, 0272989X211021397.
Dankl, K. (2020). Shared Decision Making. In Zwischenmenschliches Design (pp. 47-68). Springer VS, Wiesbaden.
Dankl, K., Stögmann, E., König, T., Moritsch, S., & Hanke, S. (2020). Multidimensional Design Research for Dementia and its Methodological Opportunities for Cross-Disciplinary Consortia. Design Journal, 23(4), 597-619. https://doi.org/DOI: 10.1080/14606925.2020.1768758
Akoglu, C., Dankl, K., & Dahl Steffensen, K. (2019). A design-led patient campaign development process for disseminating the concept of shared decision making. Design for Health, 305-323. https://doi.org/10.1080/24735132.2019.1691417
Mehr lesen

Vorträge, Podiumsdiskussionen, Workshops

»For a better future of design: Ecodesign Talk«, Member of Panel Discussion with Lotte Kristoferitsch, Sebastian Leitinger und Vandasye, 28 September 2021
»Studio Dankl and Co-Creation«, Designer’s Circle Nürnberg, 3 May 2021
Comissioned Keynote
»Postprodukt«, Symposium‘s Co-Organization und Chairing, 7 March 2019
»Urban Food Strategies«, Member of Panel Discussion with Marije Vogelzang et al,
Vienna Design Week 2018
»Developing a General Decision Aid for Future Cancer Care: Getting Feedback from Users in Busy Hospital Environments«, ISDM International Conference for Shared Decision Making 2017, with Canan Akoglu and Karina Dahl Steffensen [Peer Reviewed], Lyon July 2017
»Peer feedback: Using disciplinary-specific teaching formats as „bridges“ to enable student enga¬gement«, DUN Conference 2017, with Tine.W. Jensen [Peer Reviewed], May 2017
»Writing in design education: The Magazine and the Studio as vehicles for writing development«, EATAW 2017, Royal Holloway, University of London, with Tine.W. Jensen [Peer Reviewed], London, June 2017
»Design for Future Consumption« Discussion Series on Sustainable Design, IDRV/Designforum Vienna 1 December 2016, Member of Panel Discussion
Mehr lesen

Ausstellungen

»Re-Thinking Retirement/An Academy of Life«, 26th Biennial of Design Ljubljana, SI, 2019-2020
»Public Design Consultancy«, Vienna Biennale, AT, 2017
»Viribus Unitis«, Hofmobiliendepot, AT, 2016
»Design Discourse: Austria – South Africa«, Cape Town, ZAF, 2014
»Tomorrow is…«, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst Wien, AT, 2014
»INNENaußenINNEN nicht digitale, virtuelle Räume«, Kunstraum Niederösterreich, AT, 2013
»Progetto Cibo. La Forma del Gusto«, Mart Rovereto, IT, 2013
»Werkzeuge für die Designrevolution«, Designforum, Wien, AT 2012, designHalle, Designmai Graz, AT 2013
Mehr lesen

Produkte in ständigen Museumssammlungen

»Sunday Cake« at Museum of Applied Arts Vienna
»Adolfine« at Hofmobiliendepot Vienna

Presse

2021 Kunstmagazin Parnass 3/2021, Urban Food: Kunst, Klima, Zukunft?, AT
2021 Schaufenster Die Presse, Nr. 29/24.9.2021
2020 Insidertipps Wien: Kathrina Dankl, August 2020
2020 FORMFAKTOR, https://form-faktor.at/bio-26-in-ljubljana-design-im-zeitalter-der-informationskrise, 7. Januar 2020
2020 BIO26, featured at designaustria, 1/2020
2020 Catalogue feature on »Rethinking Retirement/An Academy of Life« 26th Biennial of Design Ljubljana, SI, 2019-2020
2018 Falstaff Living 01 / 18, AT
2017 ORF Fernsehbeitrag über den Staatspreis Design 2017 in der ZIB 13:00, AT
Mehr lesen
Nach oben

Co-Creation Impuls

by STUDIO DANKL

Lassen Sie sich dazu inspirieren, Transformation partizipativ zu denken.

  • Keynote
  • 20-45 Minuten
  • Q&A
  • in der Organisation oder online möglich

Die Keynote kommuniziert den Mehrwert von Co-Creation als nachhaltiges, strategisches Innovationstool für den öffentlichen und privaten Sektor. Co-Creation Prinzipien, Cases und Designprozess inspirieren Entscheidungs-träger*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen dazu, Transformation partizipativ zu denken.

Fokusinhalte:
— Skizzierung des Wandels der Designdisziplin von der Produktgestaltung hin zum strategischen Innovationstool
— Einblick in Co-Creation Prinzipien, Impact und Designprozess
— Konkrete, inspirierende Cases.

Zielgruppe:
Mitarbeiter*innen, Entscheidungs-träger*innen und Team, Konferenzteilnehmer*innen

Teilnehmer*innenanzahl:
unbegrenzt

Co-Creation Kickoff

by STUDIO DANKL

Lernen Sie Co-Creation anzuwenden und starten Sie mit einer fundierten Roadmap.

  • Workshop
  • 4 Stunden
  • in der Organisation oder im Impact Hub Vienna

Der Workshop richtet sich an Organisationen, die Co-Creation kennenlernen und ihr Team in Entscheidungs-prozesse über strategische Innovationen involvieren wollen. Mit einem Fokus auf angewandten Co-Creation-Prinzipien und Methoden vermittelt der Workshop ein tieferes Verständnis für vorhandene Expertisen, relevante Stakeholder und erste Produkt-Service Prototypen als Roadmap für Co-Creation in der eigenen Organisation.

Fokusinhalte:
— Grundprinzipien von Co-Creation
— Definition relevanter Herausforderungen aus
Teilnehmer*innensicht
— Interaktives Prototyping zur effizienten Validierung von Annahmen
— Start einer Co-Creation Roadmap

Vorbereitung für Teilnehmer*innen:
— Anekdote zu Herausforderung und Erfolgsmuster
— Produkt, Device oder ein Produktionsmaterial aus Ihrem Arbeitsbereich

Zielgruppe:
Entscheidungsträger*innen plus Team aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor

Teilnehmer*innenanzahl:
9-12 Personen

Co-Creation Now

by STUDIO DANKL

Starten Sie mit einem für Sie maßgeschneiderten Co-Creation Prozess in die Zukunft.

  • Prozessdesign und -begleitung
  • Projektabhängig ca. 4 bis 18 Monate

Co-Creation is Kontextabhängig und situativ, deshalb gleicht auch kein Designprozess genau dem anderen. Aus einem Pool an bewährten Methoden und Kreativabläufen, stellen wir einen maßgeschneiderten und projektabhängigen Prozess zusammen. Dieser gliedert sich in eine Vorbereitungsphase in der Ziel, Wunsch oder Chance identifiziert werden, in eine Umsetzungsphase die Ideengenerierung, Prototyping und Implementierung bis Evaluierung abdeckt, sowie in eine Nachprojektphase, in der adaptiert und Projekte weiter begleitet werden.

Fokusinhalte:
— Auf Basis eines kostenlosen Erstgesprächs,
Offert für ein maßgeschneidertes Projekt gegliedert in Vorbereitungsphase
— Umsetzungsphase
— Nachprojektphase

Zielgruppe:
Organisationen aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor

Teilnehmer*innenanzahl:
wird für Co-Creation Aktivitäten gemeinsam festgelegt

Co-Creation Ideen-Ping-Pong Over Lunch

by STUDIO DANKL

Wer mit dem Künstler Timotheus Tomicek und der Designerin Kathrina Dankl essen geht, bekommt neue Perspektiven serviert.

  • Austausch / Sparring
  • 60 Minuten
  • Q&A
  • Drei zentral gelegene Lokale in Wien zur Auswahl

Den Künstler, Filmemacher und Fotografen Timotheus Tomicek und die Designerin Kathrina Dankl verbindet eine langjährige Tradition gemeinsamer Mittagessen. Über einen losen Austausch von Ideen eröffnen sich dabei oftmals neue Blickwinkel auf die eigene Arbeit. Wir laden Projektpartner*innen, Kund*innen und Interessierte dazu ein, mit uns zu essen. Alles Weitere – neue Perspektiven inklusive – ergibt sich situativ im Gespräch.

Fokusinhalte:
— Gemeinsam Essen
— Gast teilt aktuelles Thema, Herausforderung, Projektidee
— Fragen, Reaktionen, Perspektiven, Input, Ideen von Timotheus und Kathrina

Zielgruppe:
Entscheidungsträger*innen öffentlicher und privater
Organisationen

Teilnehmer*innenanzahl: 1